top of page

Adaptive habits with Olivia Odey.


Firstly, Introduce yourself! Who are you, what do you do, and what are your passions? I’m Liv, I am originally from NZ but moved to the Gold Coast a few years ago. I am a third year naturopath student and currently work in the industry for whole health studio which I am so grateful for. I have created two recipe ebooks which you can find through my instagram and have worked in hospitality for a good chunk of my life but now use the kitchen as my creative space/hobby. I am passionate about all things health and wellness and in my spare time love to go to pilates, create things in the kitchen or spend time at the beach. How do you define healthy habits? I personally feel healthy habits are sustainable practises that you can simply incorporate into your daily life. Healthy habits should make you feel GOOD and add value to your life. Why do you believe healthy habits are important, and how can they be used to create change and adaptation in our lifestyles? I believe doing little things for yourself each day is important, especially in a world where stress and busyness is only increasing. I believe having daily non-negotiables can help you to create a lifestyle where balance is at the forefront. If we are constantly burning the candle at both ends, the way in which we respond to stress can get affected which is why a balanced lifestyle is so important. What are some of your favourite healthy habits that you implement in the mornings as a Naturopathy student? Morning sunlight

This can help to improve the sleep-wake cycle and improve melatonin production. It also just sets me up for a really good day if I start it outside in the fresh air.

Movement (walk or pilates is my favourite at the moment)

Starting my day with movement that I enjoy and that makes me feel good honestly puts me in the best headspace for the day ahead. I find it helps with my concentration at uni as well, especially on those days where I am sitting at my laptop a lot. At the moment I am really loving walking and pilates and incorporate a couple of weights sessions into my week depending on how I’m feeling/where I am at in my cycle. Syncing my exercise with my cycle has been the biggest game change but thats almost another whole blog post in itself!

A nourishing high protein/fat breakfast

I personally feel my best when I eat a decent amount of protein at each meal (30+g). This helps to stimulate muscle protein synthesis and keep you satiated. I have also been prioritising fats as they are so nourishing for the brain and hormones. Eggs and avocado are a staple in my house as well as chia puddings or breakfast wraps.

Herbs ++ supplements

I am currently doing a little gut cleanse with my naturopath (post microbiome testing) so am following a different routine than usual. In the morning I take my gut supplements, herbal tincture and fish oils.


What are some of your favourite healthy habits that you implement in the evenings?

Meditation

I do a 10 minute meditation each night which really helps me to wind down. This was recommended to me by my kinesiologist to help to reduce activity in my brain and just give it a little bit of a break from thinking. So far I have found this helps SO much. As I am someone who is constantly thinking/doing/listening to lectures or podcasts without a lot of silence in my days.

Boundaries with uni

shutting my laptop at least an hour before bed to wind down - Having boundaries for yourself is so important especially if you study or work from home. Stimulating your brain right before bed does not create the best night time environment in my experience.

Skin care

I have only just started to get into skin care and omg I am late to the party!! It is my favourite time of the day - I do this in the morning too but at night I really take the time to hydrate my face and let everything sink in overnight while I sleep. My current favourite serum is the Watermelon Glow Recipe Dew Drops. I also wear SPF every day which is so important!!

Herbs + supplements again

I take the same supplements/herbs as in the morning + melatonin sometimes if I’m feeling like I need a little sleep support.

For someone who was looking to build more healthy habits into their lifestyle, what are 3 habits you would recommend to begin with? Ooo I think every individual is so different and what works for me may not feel good for someone else - but, broadly speaking, I would say:

1. Move your body in a way that feels good for you 2. Make sure you are eating enough protein/food (p.s coffee is not breakfast so sorry!!) 3. Do something for your mind daily. (Meditate, declutter, make space) If you could give one piece of advice to your past self who had just begun the journey towards improving her health and wellness, what would it be? Ah I love this question so much. I think I would say its okay to not be perfect and you dont have to prove anything to anyone but yourself! Go at your own pace. Life's short so take the pressure off yourself a little and have fun as clichée as that sounds. I recently have just been navigating my own health challenges and its really opened my eyes up to the amount of pressure we can put on ourselves to always be doing the best - which is great but sometimes less is more and burnout/living in stress is never ever worth it. Also try your best not to compare your journeys to the person beside you because thats the biggest trap. Anything else you'd like to add? Where can we find you on social media? Thank you so much for chatting with me, you can find me @adaptive.naturopathy on instagram.




20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page